Production Project – Session 2

Learn How to Write a Screenplay | New York Film Academy

https://www.google.com/search?q=film+screenwriting&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjf-8D5-qT0AhVxHzQIHSe1Dy8Q_AUoA3oECAEQBQ&safe=active&ssui=on#imgrc=tgp_E2aft_oZfM

SUMMARY

Role: Screenwriter

Intention (SMART Goal)

Creating specific stage direction

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Winston Groom

Training Source(s)

Russel James Hasanauer is an editor and cinematographer, known for Big Mouth (2010), Angel of the City (2014) and Persona (2005)

Project Timeline

Nov 1-5: Research and Training

Nov 8-12: Pre-Production

Nov 9-15: Production

Proposed Budget

$1.80

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

Bullying a Bully

Skills Commentary

In order to meet my goal of creating specific screen direction, I kept the script very concise and simple in order to avoid confusing the actors. I did this by using simple stage directions such as “exit stage left”.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I analyzed the log line drawings and focused on the most simple aspects of the actor’s movements. I communicated these aspects through direct language

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with my group effectively by carefully listening and implementing my group’s input into my screenwriting and the choices that I helped to make as a team.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

In order to gain skills in screenwriting, I watched “How to Format a Screenplay – 5 Basic Elements: 101” by Indy Mogul. The most essential thing that I learned from this video is to be clear with whether the direction in the script is all in past, present, or future tense.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

Throughout this film project, I have learned how to make creative solutions to problems quickly in order to meet deadlines. I also learned the importance of leaving an appropriate amount of time for uploading files and labeling them. In the professional world, this will help me to make sure that I have laid out a cohesive plan to meet every task that makes up a large project.

Reactions to the Final Version

Josie: “The screen right and left directions within the screenplay were good and probably helped clarify things for your group”

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Our final version was successful because of our focused camera angles, edits that synced with the audio, and lighting that emphasized the action. There were minor aspects of the film that could have been refined such as the duration of shots, but for the most part the final version had all of the aspects of a solid short film. In my script, I could have written with a more intentional rhythm.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

For example, my group originally used copyrighted music in order to edit to a rhythm. Since we could only use student created music, I played a cover of the copyrighted song on the drums in the green room.

Grammar and Spelling

Edublogs spelling and grammar check.

Editor

Nathan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *